Champagne cocktails

Champagne cocktails by which I mean anything topped up with Cava, Prosecco or Champagne. And yes, why not include English sparkly in this esteemed list. The fizzy white wine you choose will probably depend on how flush you’re feeling and your personal preferences. Fair enough – choose what you want. But given that they are all made in the same way and merely originate from different countries, I’m using the term champagne cocktails here to simply mean long tall, elegant cocktails containing your choice of white fizz. Personally I think they all work equally well in your cocktails. There are so many great champagne cocktails that I will need to post a couple of blogs about them I think. But for now try these 3.

Kir Imperial 

Creme de Cassis topped up with champagne is the usual combination for a Kir Royale. However as a general rule I find that a liqueur mixed with champagne often turns out a bit sweet and cloying.

A lovely start point for sparkly cocktails
A lovely start point for sparkly cocktails

As a result I tend to prefer a measure of spirit, with the liqueur. This makes the final cocktail slightly drier and therefore better balanced. So in the case of the Kir Royale, add some lemon vodka to the creme de cassis and it makes a better champagne cocktail. I’d suggest one measure (25 ml) of each before you then top it up, works fine. But for this cocktail I replace the creme de cassis with the gorgeous black raspberry liqueur Chambord. It feels like a little more luxury and is a great combination. Everyone seems to love Chambord at the moment.

And if you really want to gild the lily and you don’t feel a Kir is cocktaily enough, add some edible glitter to the mix as you pour the sparkling wine. The glitter will spin and and sparkle. Job done!

Cherry Fizz 

Cherry Fizz - champagne style cocktail
Cherry Fizz – champagne style cocktail

I can’t quite remember how I found this one. I think a member of the family was having a cocktail out, and texted me about how lovely it was. My usual response is …..”what’s in it?” Then once I know the ingredients, I start mucking about with the ratios to create what I think is a well balanced cocktail. The Cherry Fizz is again (as with most champagne cocktails) fairly straightforward to create. 2 ingredients poured into a chilled flute glass – given a good stir and then topped up with champagne. My formulation is ;

  • 25 ml Amaretto di Saronno
  • 12.5 ml Monin cherry syrup
  • Topped up with fizz, so approximately 125 ml

With this cocktail you have a liqueur and a syrup as the base, so you don’t want to overdo the quantities. Otherwise it might be too sweet. Just enough to create the flavour.

Ginger Fizz 

Ginger Fizz - ginger influenced sparkly cocktail
Ginger Fizz – ginger influenced sparkly cocktail

Now at the outset, I have to declare that this name is a working title only at this stage. I’m not entirely happy with it, but I don’t have a better name for it at the moment! You might. Please let me know.

However to the important part. The ingredients. I was on a cross-channel ferry a few years ago and in the shop they had this 1 litre bottle of Absolut Orient Apple vodka. Vodka with apple and ginger – Absolut claim. It was very good value and what’s more I’d never heard of this vodka before. So in exchange for some hard-earned….. I received a bottle. Now, what to do with it? Eventually after some time doing some liquid alchemy, I combined it with some King’s Ginger liqueur. Topped with champagne it became one of my favourite champagne cocktails.

The full spec then is;

  • 12.5 ml Absolut orient apple
  • 12.5 ml King’s Ginger liqueur
  • 125-150 ml champagne

Again serving into a chilled glass so that you don’t have to use ice is ideal. Cheers, I hope you like this cocktail as much as I do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

