Sandbar – Pina Colada flavour profile cocktail

It all started a few years ago, when I was asked to include a cocktail for a lady at her party which was based on Malibu. A favourite of hers apparently. Then the thought occurred to me that I don’t really know any classic cocktails with Malibu. I certainly don’t have a go-to cocktail. So I thought I’d make one up. A new classic – hopefully! I like the flavour of coconut and everyone enjoys the Pina Colada.

Sandbar - by lamplight - rum based cocktail
Sandbar – by lamplight – rum based cocktail

It is one of those cocktails that survived from the 80s, when so many others didn’t. And with great reason. Combining pineapple and coconut with cream and rum to prevent it being too sweet is a winning combination. So that was the start point. I often find white rums, Bacardi in particular a bit anonymous, a bit lacking in depth of flavour. And so I started with golden rum. Appleton VX (recently renamed) is my current mainstream favourite for cocktails. Then we add the Malibu to give coconut and then the obligatory pineapple juice. My rule of thumb is to make sure the fruit juice volume matches the 2 alcoholic spirits combined. That way you get a mellow and fruity drink.

Named the Sandbar because the drink reminds me of sand and beaches and the Caribbean.

 

Sandbar cocktail

Is easy to make. Simply put some ice in your shaker and add the following;

  • 1 1/2 msrs golden rum
  • 1 1/2 msrs Malibu
  • 3 msrs pineapple juice

You can always lengthen it with more pineapple if the weather is hot, or you’re thirsty or you simply want a longer drink. As with all these things, mix it to suit yourself. It is good though. Cheers

 

Leave a Reply

